Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture

Weekly Photo Challenge: Golden Hour’s Fierce Beauty

The fierce beauty of the Chevron refinery fire glows  in the sunset. It took a year ago but it is still in the news with law suits and questions of safety still unsettled. This was one of my big pullover moments I had heard the sirens during a meeting  but didn't know what was happening until I was coming down the hill on my way home and saw the smoke and pulled over to join a small group with phones out taking pictures and checking on family members who lived near the blaze.  Fortunately we were all safe.

The fierce beauty of the Chevron refinery fire in Richmond California glowing in the sunset.

It took place a year ago but it is still in the news with law suits and questions of safety still unsettled. This was one of my big pullover moments. I had heard the sirens during a meeting, but didn’t know what was happening until I was coming down the hill on my way home, and saw the smoke. I quickly pulled over to join a small group with phones out taking pictures and checking on family members who lived near the blaze. Fortunately we were all safe.  This was an unforgettable “Golden Hour” in more ways than one.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Golden Hour In photography, the “golden hour” is the first and last hour of sunlight of the day.

This entry was published on July 13, 2013 at 4:30 pm. It’s filed under daily post, Golden Hour, Photography, Richmond refinery fire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment